Honda Element Owners Club banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I could use some advice.

I'm trying to decide on several Elements, one of which has 200,000 miles for $4500, others which have 150 or 160k miles for $4500-5000

Do you guys think the high mileage is an issue?

im' not sure how to evaluate mileage. If a car is well taken care of, does high mileage on the engine still just mean imminent breakdown?

·
Registered
3,234 Posts
The only way to be sure is to have an independent garage do a "pre-purchase inspection". Without that you are buying a "pig in a poke".

Actually, on an older high mileage car, I would worry more about things like brakes, suspension (struts & bushings), cooling system components, heat & AC, transmission etc... than I would the engine.

·
Registered
861 Posts
High mileage affects ALL cars!!! I would not buy one >200k unless I was a mechanic, and I'm not, so I wouldn't buy one. If you are extremely handy with cars, or you can get it thoroughly inspected.. this is the way to go. Many have positive experiences buying higher mileage elements, but they did it smart! A 200k car can be well cared for during its life, or it could have been heavily abused and neglected. The question is, CAN YOU TELL?!

200,000 miles for $4500, others which have 150 or 160k miles for $4500-5000
This is a no-brainer!!! Go the lower mileage, granted every thing else is equal.

·
Registered
07 2wd 5-speedauto
2,096 Posts
I would not buy any vehicle with 200k for that kind of money.

·
Registered
138 Posts
The only way to be sure is to have an independent garage do a "pre-purchase inspection". Without that you are buying a "pig in a poke".

Actually, on an older high mileage car, I would worry more about things like brakes, suspension (struts & bushings), cooling system components, heat & AC, transmission etc... than I would the engine.