Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello EOC members-

I'm new to the E scene and i'm thinking of selling my Honda Civic HX to get the E just for functionality sake.

I test drove an E today, '03 EX with AWD, green with all the trimmings. It was Auto and I dont really care for that. (Prefer a manual, but i'm selling the HX because it's a manual and my wife doesn't like it) .

Todays test drive was good. There was no weird noises coming from the engine, AC blew hard, mechanically, it looks sound. From the looks of my initial search, it looks like the E is now with a Timing Chain? correct me if i'm wrong..

However, there were some flaws that i found and I wanted to ask what everyone's advice is on here. (some of these are just things i noticed)

1) Tires going bald (1 needs replacement, the other 3 are okay for another 20k or so)
2) Interior plastic had a lot of scratches here and there(probably from the owner having a dog)
3) Windshield is cracked (looks like it's a common issue on the 03 and 04s)
4) Driver seat is starting to tear (another common issue)
5) Opening the passenger door leads to a weird creaking noise.

Since there are some things that need to be fixed (mostly maintenance), how much would you offer ?

Advise needed,
Thanks
kit:)

·
Registered
1,017 Posts
Seats, windshield, scratches are all common and expected with a higher mileage E.

Yes the K series 2.4 has a timing chain. Will need spark plugs at 110K plus a valve adjustment. Bulletproof motor otherwise.

Check the hinges- may need some lube-or the door was damaged and repaired.

The tires--probably needs new struts front and rear, plus a complete alignment.Doubt they have been replaced yet- so with a strut job ($800 to $1600 depending on where and who) and new tires $400 to $600 for good ones-that $9000 isn't looking to be such a great deal.