Honda Element Owners Club banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
112 Posts
I drove a salvaged Tacoma for 5 years on a daily basis. The salvage 'brand' is nothing more than a financial decision by the insurance company. If you can make it operable for the right price it works. Just remember selling it will be tough. Did I mention I work in insurance?

· Registered
112 Posts
Could be they never rotated and just bought two. One thing I wold do is check the alignment. But it doesn't matter, you should be able to pull the veh report and check the damage done. But the alignment check is what I would do if it were my kids. Screw the frame, what if a ball joint was damaged? Just have it checked out at a shop that can be trusted.

The rear bumper that is damaged is just a cover. No biggee.

· Registered
112 Posts
If the body is not aligned with the frame to a degree it is unnoticeable, it would pass my test. If it is bad enough to notice from below, there may be an issue. But this car does not look to bad. keep in mind I cannot see anything mechanical.

The bondo is no issue. He changed the front fender. The doors are fine as displayed. There may be some distortion in the paint but this is no collectors item so it doesn't matter.

What is the price tag on it?

Also, was the accident described to you?

· Registered
112 Posts
Two things:

Run the Carfax (cheap)

Ask if you can have alignment checked. If he balks, you walk. Have the rear checked as well.

This is peace of mind for $100

If it was a side swipe, then you should be in good shape. The Carfax should have a description of the accident.

**One thing bothers me. If the Ins Co uses a method of 75% damage, Let's say the value was 10K. Where is the 7500 of damage at? Def have the alignment checked. If it ran for 20k miles after the accident that is where the pain would be. However, every adjuster and customer is different. I have seen them totaled when they should not and visa versa.

· Registered
112 Posts